Celebrating outstanding women in research & Innovation



Inclusive excellence fuels our mission to develop adaptive problem-solvers and in a time of incredible transformation, both in thought and practice, we have learned the significance of uplifting and empowering one another.

During Women’s History Month, the Office of Research, Innovation & Impact announced the Women of Impact Awards as an inaugural effort to embrace and empower women, who through their work at our university, are laying the groundwork for a better future.

Faculty and staff nominated more than 400 outstanding women who have contributed to our identity as a world-class research enterprise. Among other criteria, the members of this class were selected by our committee based on their commitment to our mission and values, an application of skills toward discovery and innovation, the enrichment of our community, and the empowerment of others to ensure lasting change.

Say hello, to our first class!

We are delighted and honored to introduce the inaugural class of Women of Impact, comprised of 30 bold and forward thinking leaders in a variety of fields.

Carol Barnes, Regents Professor of Psychology, Neurology, and Neuroscience, Director of Evelyn F McKnight Brain Institute

Jessica Barnes, Assistant Professor in the College of Science

Jennifer Barton, Director of BIO5 Institute

Roberta Diaz Brinton, Director & Regents Professor, Center for Innovation in Brain Sciences

Susan Brown, Department Head & Professor of Management Information Systems

Stacy Butler, Director of Innovation for Justice and Professor of Law

Jennifer Carew, Associate Professor of Medicine

Karletta Chief, Associate Professor & Extension Specialist of Environmental Science, Historian of UArizona Native Faculty Association

Theresa Crimmins, Research Professor of Natural Resources and the Environment in the College of Agriculture & Life Science

Daniella DellaGiustina, Assistant Professor in the College of Science

Cynthia Doane, Attending Veterinarian

Marla Franco, Assistant Vice Provost, Hispanic Serving Institution Initiatives

Amelia Gallitano, Professor in the College of Medicine - Phoenix

Elise Gornish, Cooperative Extension Specialist of Natural Resources and the Environment in the College of Agriculture Life Sciences

Erika Hamden, Assistant Professor in the College of Science

Hong Hua, Professor in the Wyant College of Optical Sciences

Hongyue Jin, Assistant Professor of Systems & Industrial Engineering

Amanda Kraus, Assistant Vice President of Campus Life

Meredith Kupinski, Assistant Professor of Optical Sciences

Allison Huff MacPherson, Assistant Professor of Family & Community Medicine

Lalitha Madhavan, Associate Professor of Neurology

Raina Maier, Professor of Environmental Microbiology in the College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

Kim Patten, Assistant Vice President for Research Development

Marcia Rieke, Regents Professor of Astronomy; Member of Steward Observatory

Lee Ryan, Professor & Head of Psychology in the College of Science

Ashley Snider, Associate Professor in the College of Agriculture & Life Sciences

Carol Stewart, Associate Vice President of Tech Parks Arizona

Judith Su, Assistant Professor of Biomedical Engineering & Optics

Valerie Trouet, Professor in the Laboratory of Tree-Ring Research in the College of Science

Olesya Zhupanska, Professor of Aerospace & Mechanical Engineering

Nominees must be an employee or designated campus colleague from the University of Arizona and operate within a capacity that include a form of research or innovation. The priority deadline for 2022 nominations was March 25. This process has conduced and the selections process has begun. Anyone can submit a nominee, including themselves. Numerous entries of an individual's name do not increase the consideration of that individual, however more information on a nominee could. A nominee of the Impact Award is not entitled to a form of monetary compensation.

Need to find an employee? Look them up using our phonebook.

Women have surpassed new heights within the research enterprise and contribute heavily to our place among the nation's top public research universities with $761M in total research activity in fiscal year 2020, according to data released by the National Science Foundation.

In addition, we acknowledge our purpose as a university, which is to work together in the expansion of human potential, explore new horizons and enrich life for all – with respect to our core values of Inclusion, Determination, and Compassion.

A list of nominee's are shared with a panel of judges that consider a variety of factors, including funding, revenue, impact, inventiveness, mentorship and potential. The 2022 panel consisted of representatives from the following:

  • Research, Innovation & Impact
  • Tech Parks & Tech Launch
  • Office of the Provost & Faculty Affairs
  • Government & Community Relations
  • Marketing & Communications

Our Commitment To Inclusion

At the University of Arizona, we embed the principles of diversity and equity into Every Wildcat, Every Day – practicing both inclusion and compassion in every interaction from every office, division, and college. We believe in tackling the greatest global challenges of today and tomorrow through action-oriented, community-based inclusive excellence. This campaign is a celebration of all women – cisgender, transgender, and all who identify.


Subscribe to our newsletter to receive featured stories and event info to connect you with UArizona's research, innovation, entrepreneurial ventures, and societal impacts.

Subscribe now